Skip to content


Jesus is Not Taking a Sabbatical

I just discovered Regent College has put some short lecture clips on the professors’ intro pages. Here is Dr. John Stackhouse teaching Systematic Theology B (Creation, Christology, Soteriology and Anthropology) on Jesus’ career.

You can also see me in the middle of the clip. Don’t think that I was not paying attention. I was just busy typing notes on my computer =P

What Dr. Stackhouse is talking about in this lecture is that, when people talk about the significant points of Jesus’ life and ministry, most people (especially evangelicals) usually come up with four:

  1. Incarnation
  2. Crucifixion
  3. Resurrection
  4. Return (to judge the world)

The problem with this view is that Jesus may seem to be taking an extended sabbatical, while the Holy Spirit takes over things on earth until he returns. It is also missing crucial points in Jesus’ ministry. The proper view should have seven, not four, points:

  1. Incarnation
  2. Inauguration
  3. Crucifixion
  4. Resurrection
  5. Ascension
  6. Governance — and Intercession
  7. Return

The Inauguration is important because it signifies the in-breaking of the Kingdom of God and Jesus’ role as the Messianic King. The Ascension is important because it initiates the ministry of the Holy Spirit (John 16:7), but that doesn’t mean Jesus is at rest. He is continually doing his ministry in the world through the Spirit. Jesus has become Lord and he is continually governing the cosmos and the church, interceding for all as the High Priest, until his final return.

So why is there a need to learn or study theology?

You miss 43% of what Jesus is doing if you don’t. That’s why.

Posted in Christian Education, Posts in English, Regent, Theology.

Tagged with , , , , , , , .